Anatomy of Dicot root (gram)

The plants whose seeds have only one cotyledon are called dicots. The structure of dicot root varies greatly from that of the monocots. By understanding the structure of dicot root and monocot root, we can make comparisons between them and distinguish them by studying them under a microscope. 

Visit this page to learn about monocot root.

Meristematic Tissues

Growth in plants happens in two stages

  • first new cells are produced,
  • secondly these cells expand via uptake of water by the vacuole.

The division of cells doesn't occur throughout the plant - but only in meristematic regions. Expansion, however, can occur anywhere. Thus, in any plant, there are regions containing young cells, maturing cells and matured cells that have lost the capacity to divide.

Radius of Gyration

Radius of gyration is defined as the distance from the axis of rotation to a point where the total mass of the body is supposed to be concentrated, so that the moment of inertia about the axis may remain the same. Simply, gyration is the distribution of the components of an object. It is denoted by K.

Center of Mass

The center of mass (not to be confused with center to gravity) of a body is the point which behaves as if all the mass of the body is concentrated there. Thus, if a force acts at this point, the body will accelerate but will not rotate.